Meet our new farm crew!

We are very excited to introduce Sam and Kendra who will be working with us for the entire 2014 season! They are both interested in learning more about operating an organic farm and all of it’s different facets. But they each come with their own experiences and passions. Sam, for example, loves working in orchards and has spent quite a bit of time working with fruit trees. Kendra, on the other hand, loves working with animals and is very interested in restoring native grasses and learning more about pasture management. Since we just planted an acre of fruit and nut trees and are getting sheep by the end of April, I feel like we have a pretty solid, well-rounded crew. Yea!!

Past. I grew up in Los Angeles left at 18 years old for Brazil to study martial arts. Then I spent almost three years traveling around volunteering/working on farms. I stayed on 14 different farms, in six different countries, some briefly and one in Mendoza, Argentina for a year and eight months. In Mendoza I took on lots of responsibilities becoming a farm manager. I also learned tons of other stuff in South America including natural medicine and diet, natural construction, meditation, and yoga. Present. I am excited to spend this year along the Rogue River at Wandering Roots Farm! Future. Farming! I am interested in owning my own farm one day soon.

Hi, my name is Sam. I grew up in Los Angeles, California but left at 18 years old to study martial arts in Brazil. After that, I spent almost three years traveling around South America. I volunteered and worked on 14 different farms in six different countries, some briefly and one in Mendoza, Argentina for a year and eight months. In Mendoza, I became the farm manager and took on lots of responsibilities. I also learned tons of other stuff in South America including natural medicine and diet, natural construction, meditation, and yoga. I am excited to spend this year along the Rogue River at Wandering Roots Farm! I hope to one day start my own farm.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will be joining the Wandering Roots team this season as an intern with the Rogue Farm Corps. I am originally from Pleasant Hill, OR, and I have a background in organic farming and cattle ranching thanks to my family. This spring I graduated from the University of Oregon with a degree in Environmental Science and I am excited to apply my classroom learning about sustainable agriculture in a hands-on way during my time here at Wandering Roots. I discovered my love for farming last season while working at a smaller farm in the Willamette Valley and I am hoping to grow my knowledge through the RFC internship so I can continue farming in the future.

Hi, my name is Kendra. I will be joining the Wandering Roots team this season as an intern with the Rogue Farm Corps. I am originally from Pleasant Hill, OR, and I have a background in organic farming and cattle ranching thanks to my family. This spring I graduated from the University of Oregon with a degree in Environmental Science and I am excited to apply my classroom learning about sustainable agriculture in a hands-on way during my time here at Wandering Roots. I discovered my love for farming last season while working at a smaller farm in the Willamette Valley and I am hoping to grow my knowledge through the RFC internship so I can continue farming in the future.

One thought on “Meet our new farm crew!

Leave a Reply

